Current Projects, That Summer's Day, Work Blog

Character Design Work Begins for That Summer’s Day

Work on character design has begun!

Can you more or less guess which shadow belongs to which character, based on the character descriptions on the project page for That Summer’s Day? Well, there is one extra character in the picture, and he was featured in the demo Memories of Marin (go check it out on itch.io if you haven’t already!). But our MC is the figure in the very centre, and to the left are Lydia Lecoeur and Marin Collins. That stylish looking figure all the way on the right is Alyssa Fairweather.

Yup, work on That Summer’s Day has begun! I will be re-designing the characters and posting updates regularly, as soon as I have new materials to showcase. Even though all there is right now are silhouettes of our characters, I cannot believe how long it actually took to create them! I might still make some changes but for now this is a close enough reference!

There are a total of fourteen characters to design, and six more other minor characters to conceptualise. 😅 It really feels a little daunting now that I think about it. When I wrote That Summer’s Day, it was tailored to what was available on that platform I had been using, so I didn’t think too much about adding more to the story… *Takes in deep breath* I guess I will just have to slowly get to everything and not think too much!

Hopefully over the next few days I will have more to showcase… But that is all for now!

Leave a comment