Current Projects, Side Story: Memories of Marin, That Summer's Day, Work Blog

Demo / Side Story: Memories of Marin

I’ve finally started playing around with Ren’Py.

It was definitely quite challenging the first few days when I started, but by now, after four days, I am finally starting to understand and appreciate it.

The default files in Ren’Py have helpful comments that help guide beginners on where to make needed changes, and there is plenty of resources on the Internet for codes… You can basically find codes for almost any trick or effect you can think of to use in your VN.

Gameplay and Interface
Gameplay and Interface: Cursor and selected buttons

The screenshots are from the demo game I am making for That Summer’s Day. Even though I am referring to it as a “demo”, it is more of a side story, or an extended story, from the original VN.

This demo is mostly going to be about the memories between the protagonist Sean Tovin, and one of the love interests available in the main story, his childhood friend and distant cousin, Marin Collins.

This short side story will give glimpses into a few of their precious memories from childhood, their teenage years, and their adulthood.

Players will be able to gain extra information about the history these two shared from the demo, and based on the few choices they make, they will either end up with Marin, or missing their chance with her.

I’ve noticed that the GUI I am using has HUGE buttons.

Even though I wanted to make small stylish ones, I also considered that as a reader of VNs, I like the game interface to have BIG, clear buttons that I can easily access, so that my experience won’t be punctuated by attempts of navigating the interface and feeling frustrated in the process. That’s really just my personal experience and preference.

Working through the game customisation, including setting a GUI standard/template, animation and transition standards will really help me gain a clearer idea of how I want “That Summer’s Day” to look eventually. Hopefully this demo can also be used as a template in the future, so that I can decrease the amount of time I spend making adjustments and setting up new parameters.

Writing Memories of Marin stirred up some feelings of nostalgia in me.

It is not like the story is based on my own personal life or experience. (I wish my life was as easy as Marin’s, and I had as indulgent family and friends.) But there is always a certain nostalgia associated with childhood, memories, and that young love between you and the first person you ever had felt special feelings for. I think that is where the nostalgia comes from. And it also comes with accepting that you don’t always end up with the person you’ve loved all your life, and that it is alright to move on.

Even though Marin is a privileged girl with loving family and friends, she is also a very lonely person who has been searching for something missing inside her.

Don’t worry though, Marin will always find happiness in the end, because she is just the kind of girl who is more inclined to be happy. And while our protagonist is less cheerful and bubbly than his cousin, he will also discover what it means to love.

In any case, I should stop here, lest I give the whole story away!

I hope this story will be meaningful to those who may come across it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment